BOARD OFFICERS

Luz Reyes-Martin President Andria Martinez Cohen VP Policy Amanda Hsiung VP Organization Kate Parker Secretary Catherine Swysen CFO

BOARD MEMBERS

Pamela Flynt Tambo

Charlotte Gullap-Moore

Vicki Allen

Anna Everett

Elsa Granados

Kenia Guinto

Lisa Guravitz

ej Borah

SANTA BARBARA WOMEN'S POLITICAL COMMITTEE

32 Years of Feminism From Marching in the Streets to a Seat at the Table

June 9, 2020

The Honorable Karen Bass 2059 Rayburn HOB Washington, D.C. 20515 email: <u>Caren.Street@mail.house.gov</u>; <u>Janice.bashford@mail.house.gov</u>

RE: H.R.7120 Justice in Policing Act of 2020 - SUPPORT

Dear Congresswoman Bass,

On behalf of the Santa Barbara Women's Political Committee (SBWPC), I am writing to express support for H.R.7120 Justice in Policing Act of 2020 which will hold law enforcement accountable in court for misconduct, improve transparency through data collection, and reform police training and polices. SBWPC's mission is dedicated to furthering gender equality and other feminist values through political and social action and educational activities. Our organization is one of the largest women's political committees in Santa Barbara County with approximately 300 members. We advocate for a diverse set of positions which include eliminating structural racism. The Santa Barbara Women's Political Committee recognizes that inequitable political, economic, cultural and social conditions breed and foster racism which in turn perpetuates and exacerbates inequality. https://sbwpc.org/positions/.

We are aware that police brutality is a reflection of the entrenched system of racial injustice in America. The Santa Barbara Women's Political Committee regards H.R.7120 as an important step forward in reaching equal justice through action and comprehensive reform in policing.

Thank you for reviewing our organization's position on this issue. Should you wish to communicate further with us, please email us at info@sbwpc.org or visit our website: <u>www.sbwpc.org</u>

Sincerely,

Luz Reyes-Martín

Luz Reyes-Martin President SBWPC

CC:

Congressman Salud Carbajal: <u>Jeremy.Tittle@mail.house.gov</u> Senator Dianne Feinstein: 331 Hart Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510 Senator Kamala Harris: 112 Hart Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510 Black Lives Matter Santa Barbara: <u>HealingJusticeSB@Protonmail.com</u>

Hathor Hammett **Beverly Herbert Jacqueline** Inda Karena Jew Sandy Kievman Stacy Little Paula Lopez Christina Pizarro **Jennifer Smith Catherine Swysen** PAST PRESIDENTS **Gayle Binion** Barbara Lindemann Lois Phillips Carole Piceno Susan Rose

Hannah-Beth Jackson

Margaret Connell Helene Schneider

Janet Barron

Lisa Guravitz

Mary O'Gorman

Beth Schneider

Jane Gray

Carol Keator Catherine Swysen

Alissa Hummer Sharon Hoshida